Select country 2

  • Нравится
  • Government structure
    The Constitution, adopted in 1993, states that the Russian Federation is a democratic federally structured republic with a government based upon the rule of law.


    Russia has a president as head of state and a prime minister as head of government.


    The legislative branch is a bicameral Federal Assembly, consisting of the State Duma (the lower house of parliament) and the Federation Council (the upper house). The State Duma drafts legislation and can amend the Constitution. The Federation Council approves or rejects draft laws passed by the State Duma and can appoint high court judges as well.


    Executive power is exercised by the Government, which is comprised of the prime minister, deputy prime ministers and federal ministers.


    The judicial branch involves several levels of courts, the highest of which is the Constitutional Court. The Supreme Court is the highest judicial body for courts with general jurisdiction (civil, criminal and administrative cases). The Supreme State Arbitrazh Court is the highest instance for economic disputes.


    Russia’s constituent entities (regions, territories, autonomous areas, autonomous regions, federal cities, and republics) have their own legislative and executive bodies.

    Source: PwC

    Connect with us If you have any questions or suggestions, please write or call us.